Tags

, , ,

Tracklist

The Boys

  1. The Boys
  2. Telepathy (텔레파시)
  3. Say Yes
  4. TRICK
  5. (How Great Is Your Love) (봄날)
  6. My J
  7. OSCAR
  8. Top Secret
  9. Lazy Girl (Dolce Far Niente)
  10. Sunflower (제자리걸음)
  11. VITAMIN (비타민)
  12. MR. TAXI (Korean Ver.)
  13. The Boys (English Ver.)

The Boys” is kind of growing into me. Fierce upbeat music = my kind of music. After watching the full PV, I’m kind of loving the song more and more. The only problem I have is with the chorus. While the song has upbeat music, the verses are pretty subtle and the chorus felt weird in between for me. The rap at the end was awesome of course.

Sunny

The next track is “Telepathy“. It’s a cute upbeat song and I absolutely detest the opening. The opening didn’t fit well with me (but that’s my opinion) otherwise the song is pretty decent.

Say Yes” is another cute song by the girls and the cuteness of this song was the cuteness found in their “Oh” Era. If you get what I mean. Anyways, I like it.

Yoona

Now “TRICK” is the dose I actually needed (as if only one fierce track would have satisfied me). A very club like song, I love the chorus even if there is use of auto-tune a bit in the song. This song is absolutely recommended!

How great is your love” is a ballad. Usually not a huge fan of ballads. I am very selective when it comes to them and sadly this didn’t make the cut for me. Oh don’t get me wrong, the ballad is absolutely perfect but not the song for me.

Sooyoung

I don’t know what to say about “My J“. Its another cute upbeat song of course and I liked the opening but overall, didn’t really appeal to me much. It was sort of boring. :/

OSCAR” gave me dark vibes, and I love it! A lot of auto-tune but the rocki-ish club beat and the girls’ vocals reminded me of “Wake Up” from their last year’s mini-album “Hoot” which I might is add one of my favorite. But I felt that this track was a bit more darker.

Taeyeon

Hoot Version 2.0” is our next track. Oops I meant “Top Secret“. The music was pretty 70s and the opening reminded me a lot of “Hoot“. The chorus is addictive but I still prefer “Hoot.”

Another cute song, “Lazy Girl” uses simple beats. The chorus was the cutest I think. I am a lazy girl~

Hyo Yeon

We have a ballad again and “Sunflower” definitely made the cut for me. The piano music accompanying the girls’ vocals couldn’t be any more pleasing to listen to.

VITAMIN” reminded me too much of “Snowy Wish“. The music seemed very Christmas-y to me. I liked the chorus. That’s it.

Jessica

Korean version of “MR. TAXI“. *groans* Maybe its because I absolutely love the Japanese version, I felt like this version lacked something. The “oomph” that the Japanese version has, isn’t in this version. Though I liked the fact Taeyeon said Seoul first then Tokyo (which was the opposite in the original).

The English version of “The Boys” isn’t bad either. Beside the chorus.

Overall Verdict: All the tracks are pretty awesome, but their cute songs weren’t what I expected. It felt like they degraded in this particular area. Their 2nd album “Oh” was still better for me.

